Adventuring with Alia

Chronicles of a distance runner

A lesson in wandering

3 Comments

As my solo travels neared, I got increasingly anxious. And when it came time to be dropped off at the airport, I was beside myself with nerves.

Somehow, I made it to my first hostel without a complete nervous breakdown. And I  have to admit that I was still feeling a bit uneasy. I had people tell me repeatedly that the length of time that I scheduled to be in Venice was incredibly long. Shit.

The next morning I set out to go into the heart of Venice (my hostel, along with many others, is on the mainland. Venice itself doesn’t have any cars, so you have to take a boat to get in. So. Cool.), still nervous. But as I leaned on the edge of the boat heading down the Grand Canal, a huge smile spread over my face. Various boats cruised the canal, there was gondola traffic, and the entire waterway was lined with picturesque Italian buildings, with laundry hanging to dry outside and window sills with brightly colored flowers and vines pouring out of them.

In that moment, it dawned on me that I was actually in Venice. That this was real!

Since then, I’ve enjoyed Venice so much, that I feel no amount of writing could ever explain it all. I’m so glad that I randomly decided to stay for as long as I did because it’s given me the freedom to wander and enjoy this breathtaking city in a more intimate way.

Venice is absolutely a romantic city. Just the lack of cars and addition of boats does the trick. But the intricately cobblestoned streets with winding alleyways are what I really love. I had been so nervous about getting lost here, that I forgot that sometimes it’s ok to get lost. Sometimes it’s refreshing to get lost. And sometimes, getting lost leads you to far better things than you ever could have planned.

I operated my days with generally one intent, and then ample time to wander aimlessly. Wandering was generally accompanied by gelato, several times a day. I have the sugartooth of a 2-year-old who just discovered ice cream.

Unfortunately, I am at the mercy of one laptop that the hostel let me use for a couple minutes, and there is already a line of people waiting to use it. I was trying to upload some pictures, but am having difficulties. Check back later possibly.

Apologies for the haphazard account of Venice. I really wish I had more time.

Much love to everyone back home.

Ciao.

Author: Alia Teixido Gray

I like reading, writing, running, and drinking coffee. Lots of it.

3 thoughts on “A lesson in wandering

  1. I just got the feeling of total-radical-peaceful immersion in a wonderful culture just by reading this. Loving it.
    CIAOOOOW

  2. Hi from Misha, Ilianna, and Sophia! We have been reading(my mom REALLY means stalking you) your blog and loving it!! Your vivid descriptions of venice bring back sweet memories!!! We wish we were there with you, but our way of traveling is a little stressful… 🙂 p.s. Have you seen the Venetian glass blowing on the island of murano?
    Can’t wait to hear from you from you again!
    Lots of love, (LOL)
    the Teixidos

  3. so excited for you!! 🙂 ❤ jen

Leave a Reply

