Adventuring with Alia

Chronicles of a distance runner

Back to the track

5 Comments

Anyone who read my last post knows that my 15k in Gate River wasn’t exactly up to my performance standards as an athlete.

My training in general was yo-yoing for whatever reason. I was frustrated. A little exasperated. I tortured myself by reminiscing on the splits that I was running in my fall segment of training. I briefly fell into what I call “post-breakup panic.”

Essentially, the familiar phenomenon that occurs when something in the present isn’t quite going as you had perfectly mapped out in your head, and you make some aspect of your past out to be better than it probably was…failing to acknowledge the pitfalls during that time, only seeing the good attributes somehow now enormously (and typically undeservingly) magnified.

You aren’t thinking rationally. All you know is that something in you wants to do anything to get it (him, her, etc.) back. This genre of panic often leads to some interesting choices.

We’ve all been there, or watch good friends go there.

Except in this case, I couldn’t sit by myself, get sloppy drunk on whiskey, and blubberingly hiccup myself through a phone call that I know I’d come to regret even through the thick liquor-induced haze.

That training cycle was gone. There was no getting it back.

The perfect training cycle

The Gate River race, and really the entire weekend, was a great wake-up call for me. I was training, but something wasn’t clicking.

I was out of the city setting, back to great trail running, a flexible work schedule, and nightly home-cooked meals. Not exactly what you call a charity case.

Essentially, it was time for me to pull up my big girl spandex and get back to work.

I had stupidly been waiting for perfect workouts, perfect training weeks, and was pissed that things weren’t snapping into place. I mentioned that I was missing my fall fitness, but I was failing to remember that that cycle hadn’t started so amazingly either. I had started in arguably the worst shape I’ve been in in years, post-Europe, aka post-five-week-love-affair-with-olive oil-and-sangria-and-occasional-running, at best.

Is there such thing as a perfect training cycle? Who the hell knows.

Swiftness of change

Coming out of Gate River, I wondered if it would even be a good idea to run at Stanford. The date was creeping closer, and I had felt so drastically under prepared for the 15k, that my competitive confidence wasn’t exactly soaring.

However, with a refreshed attitude, training started to turn around after Gate. I ran some workouts that surprised me, and left me actually excited to race, all within the span of a few short weeks.

I felt renewed.

Going into last week, someone astutely noted that perhaps my most significant change was that I had decided that I actually wanted to race that weekend at Stanford. So true.

I toed the line of the third heat, raced the 5k and pr’d by 26 seconds for a final time of 16:14.

The rest of the weekend was spent with my face hurting from smiling, feeling overwhelmed by the support and excitement around me, and humbled by how quickly things had taken a turn for the better.

Stanford 5k

Photo (and coaching) cred. to Mr. Gary Towne

I’m off to the SacTown 10 miler this coming Sunday. Yip!

Author: Alia Teixido Gray

I like reading, writing, running, and drinking coffee. Lots of it.

5 thoughts on “Back to the track

  1. YES! 🙂 Ahhh so excited for you, Alia! Great job :)! I can’t wait to race the Sac Town 10 miler with you! Let’s keep each other company

  2. HOLY FAST 5K!! I love that last photo, what a great shot!

Leave a Reply

